The Monument of Armenian Alphabet is situated in Artashavan village on the eastern slope of Aragats. It was built in 2005 in the honour of the creation of Armenian letters in 1600 by the project of outstanding architect Jim Torosyan. The monument represents the 39 tracery letters of Armenian Alphabet. Armenian letters were created in 405-406 and are still used for introducing Armenian language in written form. It was raised by the linguist and church leader Mesrop Mashtots for the Bible to become available for Armenians and to extend the Christianity. At first Mashtots Alphabet consisted of 36 letters, which were completed in the Middle Ages.